RFK Racing drivers fail to qualify for Clash at the Coliseum

After heat racing and a pair of Last Chance Qualifiers, RFK Racing drivers Brad Keselowski and Chris Buescher failed to qualify for the NASCAR Clash at the Coliseum for the second year in a row.

Former champion Chase Elliott rode wire-to-wire Sunday to win the second Last Chance Qualifier to move into the feature. He was joined by runner-up Ty Gibbs and third-place finisher AJ Allmendinger.

Michael McDowell led all 50 laps in the first Last Chance Qualifier race to move into the feature. Christopher Bell and Todd Gilliland also advanced to the 150-lap main event.

Among those who failed to advance from the first to last race were Harrison Burton, whose late-race crash cost him several places, and Ty Dillon.

Austin Cindric has secured the provisional starting spot and will be 27th – and last – at the green flag. The race is scheduled for 8:20 p.m. ET.

William Byron led all 25 laps to win the fourth heat race.

Bubba Wallace, Ross Chastain, Ryan Preece and Erik Jones also moved to the feature from the fourth heat, taking fifth and last place with two laps to go.

Denny Hamlin dominated the third moto, taking 20 of the 25 lap wins. Chase Briscoe, Tyler Reddick, Ryan Blaney and Daniel Suarez followed in the top five to move into the main event.

The biggest loser in moto three was Bell, who spun after late-race contact and finished sixth.

Martin Truex Jr. took the lead from Kyle Busch late in moto two and took the win handily. Busch was second, Austin Dillon third and Kyle Larson fourth.

Kevin Harvick, who started his final season in the Cup, made a strong last-lap move to lead Elliott to a fifth-place and final move to feature.

Aric Almirola, who failed to make the Clash field last season, took the lead late in the first heat race and won the 25-lapper ahead of Alex Bowman and Justin Haley.

“It was about being more prepared,” Almirola told Fox Sports. “There was no way we were prepared a year ago. I was really disappointed to watch this race from the grandstands last year.

Rookie Noah Gragson and defending and season champion Joey Logano also finished in the top five to join the top three in feature play.

Burton spun early in the first moto.

MORE: Heat 1 race results

MORE: Heat 2 race results

MORE: Heat 3 race results

MORE: Heat 4 race results

Last Chance Qualifier race 1 results

Last Chance Qualifier Race 2 results

Read more about NASCAR

Dr. Diandra: Strategies for Getting the Clash to Pick the NASCAR Sunday Schedule at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum The NASCAR Clash Heat Race Lineups

RFK Racing drivers fail to qualify for Clash at the Coliseum that originally appeared on NBCSports.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *