NHL All-Star Skills Competition Tracker: Live Scores, Highlights

The Florida Panthers will host the 2023 NHL All-Star Game on February 3 and 4 at the FLA Live Arena in Sunrise.

The festivities kick off with the All-Star Skills competition at 7pm ET on Friday, followed by the All-Star Game at 3pm ET on Saturday. Both events will air on CBC, Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada, while ESPN and ABC will cover the weekend in the United States.

The skill competition will feature a unique South Florida twist, with the introduction of mini-games like Splash Shot and Pitch ‘n’ Puck to accompany classic All-Star events. We’ll have you covered with the latest results, highlights and analysis of what a fun Friday night should be.

Sidney Crosby (#87) and Alexander Ovechkin (#8) are two of the biggest names entering the NHL All-Star Skills competition.  (Photo by Jeff Vinnick/NHLI via Getty Images)
Sidney Crosby (#87) and Alexander Ovechkin (#8) are two of the biggest names entering the NHL All-Star Skills competition. (Photo by Jeff Vinnick/NHLI via Getty Images)

All-Star Skills competition events

Spray shot

This unique event will take place on the beach in Fort Lauderdale. Four teams of two players will have to hit the targets in an attempt to crush their opponent in a tank of water. The team that manages to crush their opponents first wins in this knockout tournament.


Sidney Crosby

Nathan MacKinnon

Mikko Rantanen

Cal Makar

Igor Shesterkin

Adam Fox

Brady Tkachuk

Matthew Tkachuk

Pitch ‘n’ Puck

The only sport NHL players can love more than hockey is golf, and Florida is the perfect setting. Six players will compete on a par 4 hole with an island green, using both pucks and balls to achieve the lowest score and be declared the winner of this brand new competition.


Johnny Gaudreau

Clayton Keller

Jason Robertson

Nicholas Suzuki

Tent Tandem

Goaltenders will get more love in this year’s All-Star Skill competition with the introduction of the Tendy Tandem event. All eight All-Star goaltenders will compete in teams of two, with one taking part in shooting and the other in goal.

The shooter will take a shot from a designated spot on the ice and accumulate points based on where he places the puck in the net. Based on how well the shooting goaltender does, his net counterpart will face a number of skaters in a shootout. If the goalkeeper in the net makes a save, his team earns full points for that round. Play continues until each puck is shot and the tandem with the most points wins.

Don’t worry, we’re just as confused as you are about this event, so we’ll just have to wait and see how Friday plays out.


Connor Hellebuyck

Juuse Saros

Igor Shesterkin

Stuart Skinner

Ilya Sorokin

Logan Thompson

Linus Ulmark

Andrey Vasilevsky

Shooters: Alex Carpenter, Hilary Knight, Emily Clark, Rebecca Johnston, Sarah Nurse

The fastest skater

The fastest skater in the NHL will be crowned in two rounds with a full lap around the rink each time. A preliminary round will determine the two finalists. Jordan Kyrou won last year’s event with a time of 13.55 seconds, while Connor McDavid is tied with Mike Gartner for the most wins in the event.


Dylan Larkin

Kirill Kaprizov

Cal Makar

Chandler Stephenson

Andrei Svechnikov

Hardest shot

Each participant will have two attempts to record the hardest possible shot from 30 feet away from the net. Victor Hedman won last year’s event with a 103.2 mph slapper, while Zdeno Chara holds the all-time record with a 108.8 mph rocket in 2012.


Rasmus Dalin

Seth Jones

Josh Morrissey

Alex Oveckin

Elias Pettersson

Escape challenge

Each contestant will receive one shot attempt to impress a panel of judges and earn a score out of 10. Normal NHL shooting rules do not apply, meaning skaters can start anywhere in the neutral zone and go anywhere in the offensive zone, even behind the net (here come Michigan). If there is a tie for the highest score, those contestants will have one more attempt to claim the crown. Alex Pietrangelo won the event last year with 64 points.


Mitch Marner

Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby (collaboration)

David Pastrnak

Matthew Tkachuk

Celebrity goalkeeper: Roberto Luongo

Precision shooting

Participants will be tasked with hitting four Styrofoam targets placed in the corners of the net while catching passes from two players standing on either side of the goal, in the shortest time possible. In the semi-final and final, two goals will be placed next to each other on the goal line and the contestants will shoot at targets simultaneously, with the player hitting all targets first to be crowned champion.

Sebastian Aho won the 2022 event with a time of 10.937 seconds.


Alexander Barkov

Leon Draisaitl

Kevin Hayes

Jack Hughes

Nazem Kadri

Nikita Kucherov

Connor McDavid

Brock Nelson

Artemi Panarin

Vladimir Tarasenko

More from Yahoo Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *